Simon v/s Homo Sapiens Agenda

Rating 5 stars

The first 5 star book of 2017 and it is a contemporary my least read genre. I just don’t like reading about normal people and their romances. But safe to say  Simon’s story was defiantly not the normal boy meets girl, run of the mill contemporary. It was a coming of age novel with Simon dealing with his coming out and falling for his secret email pen pal. The best thing about this book was it focused not only on Simon and Blue but also, everyone around Simon . His parents, sisters, friends and even to an extent even his teacher featured regularly  and formed a part of the story.

The thing I hate the most about contemporary is that it turns the MC and their love interest turn into islands with absolutely or minimum human contact with people other than their other half’s. But nothing of that sort happens in this book which I’m thankful for.

Simon was a really funny and teenage sounding narrator (He kinda gave me Percy Jackson feels with the snarky narration and pop culture references)  Also he earns brownie points by being a potterhead and dressing up for Halloween like someone/something from Harry Potter universe.

It’s not just about the characters who are funny , the cirumstances and plot is also very engaging. The mysterious identity of Blue and it’s revel was also kinda unpredictable  (well atleast I didn’t suspect who it was but that is nothing great since I usually don’t)

This review is a week or two late(or a month) but anyways I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who needs a feel good and genuine book.

Also this book will make your crave Oreos, so stock it up before starting.

2 thoughts on “Simon v/s Homo Sapiens Agenda

  1. “I just don’t like reading about normal people and their romances” I love that comment and it is sooooooo me! Although I have been reading more contemporary recently because they are short and I am getting tired of long books.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

